I was looking into an issue as to why SharePoint was sending the ‘added you as a colleague’ notification even though the SPS-EmailOptin user profile property was disabled. This property controls whether the user receives notifications when people add them as a colleague.
My investigation turned up a couple of interesting things:
- The code that sends the email is NOT a timer job. It is sent inline when you press the OK button to add the colleague. (The code is in the Microsoft.Office.Server.UserProfiles namespace)
- If the property is disabled, the email will always be sent irrespective of whether the user profile has a value for that property.
So, I suggest you don’t disable the property unless you always want this email to be sent.